Assam erupts in anger over land given to Bangladesh

By- Correspondent | Date- September 7, 2011

A day after the Land swap agreement between India and Bangladesh was signed by the Prime Ministers of both nations; people across the state of Assam erupted in anger and protest against giving away land of Assam to the neighboring country.

Questions were raised as to why Indian government did not even talk a word about handing over the lakhs of illegal Bangladeshi immigrants residing illegally in Assam, but were keen only to handover land of Assam instead.

Almost all organizations of the state, even the hardliner faction of the insurgent group United Liberation Front of Asom (ULFA) slammed the deal and criticized the Government. Student organizations such as the All Assam Students Union (AASU) and Assam Jatiyodabadi Yuva Chatra Parishad (AJYCP) staged protests across the state and burnt effigies of Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi, who accompanied him to Dhaka.

All opposition parties including the Asom Gana Parishad (AGP), BJP as well other civil organizations such as the Krishak Mukti Sangram Samiti (KMSS) were strongly vocal against the handover of land of Assam to Bangladesh. The parties and groups stated that the central Government had betrayed the people of Assam and criticized Tarun Gogoi strongly for his silence in such a major issue. In fact AGP has declared to observe September 6 every year as a black day in protest against the agreement.

On the other hand the ULFA stated a press release and asked Tarun Gogoi to learn from West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee withdrew from the trip, reportedly over the water treaty of the river Teesta. Mamata Banerjee is reported to have felt that India had agreed to supply too much water to Bangladesh. As per reports, there was difference between the initial draft of the agreement and the final version.

Mentionable that both India and Bangladesh, as expected, signed several key border and trade agreements during the visit of the Indian prime minister to Bangladesh. The Indian Prime Minister was accompanied by the chief ministers of four Indian states, including Assam, Tripura, Mizoram and Meghalaya which border Bangladesh.

AASUAGPAJYCPAll Assam Students UnionAsom Gana ParishadAssamAssam Jatiyodabadi Yuva Chatra ParishadBangladeshBJPIndiaKMSSKrishak Mukti Sangram SamitiManmohan SinghULFAUnited Liberation Front of Asom